What are the functions and mandates of the NTSA?

National Transport and Safety Authority (NTSA) is a statutory body established by the National Transport and Safety Authority Act (2012) to bring about sanity in our roads.

To this end, NTSA, brings together under one roof the functions of Motor Vehicle Registration, Transport Licensing and Motor Vehicle Inspection, Road Safety, Driver Testing, and to some extent Traffic Law enhancement.

Core functions

The main functions of the Authority as outlined in section 4 of the NTSA Act are to: –

  • Advise and make recommendations on matters relating to road transport and safety,
  • Implement policies relating to road transport and safety
  • Plan, manage and regulate the road transport sector in accordance with the provisions of the Act, and,
  • Ensure the provision of safe, reliable and efficient road transport service.

Core mandates

  1. Register and licence motor vehicles,
  2. Conduct motor vehicle inspection and certification,
  3. Regulate public service vehicles,
  4. Advise the Government on national policy with regard to road transport sector,
  5. Develop and implement road safety strategies,
  6. Facilitate the education of members of the public on road safety,
  7. Conduct research and audits on road safety,
  8. Compile inspection reports relating to traffic accidents,
  9. Establish systems and procedures for, and oversee the training, testing and licensing of drivers,
  10. Formulate and review the curriculum of driving schools, and coordinate the activities of persons and organizations dealing in matters relating to road safety.